The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More DVD/VHS Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

UFO - Showtime (DVD) (8,5/10) - Great Britain - 2005

Genre: Hard Rock
Label: Steamhammer
Playing time: 200 min.
Band homepage: UFO



Live Concert Wilhelmshaven Pumpwerk, Germany May 13, 2005

  1. Intro
  2. Mother Mary
  3. When Daylight Goes To Town
  4. Let It Roll
  5. Out On The Streets
  6. This Kids
  7. The Wild One
  8. Fighting Man
  9. Only You Can Rock Me
  10. Baby Blue
  11. Mr. Freeze
  12. Love To Love
  13. Too Hot Too Handle
  14. Lights Out
  15. Rock Bottom
  16. Doctor Doctor
  17. Shoot Shoot
  • Making Of DVD
  • Slideshow
  • Biography
  • Discography


  • Peppermint Park Studio Session, May 26th 2005:
  1. Pack It Up And Go
  2. Try Me
  3. Love To Love
  4. Slipping Away
  5. Cherry
  6. Profession Of Violence
  • Making Of Studio Songs
  • Rockboat (Doku)
  • USA 2004 (Doku)
  • History (Interviews)
  • Bonus Statements (Interviews)
  • Credits
UFO - Showtime (DVD)

I’ve never really been a fan of UFO. In fact, I don’t know that I’d ever even heard any of UFO’s music prior to viewing the legendary band’s first DVD, “Showtime”. And while the DVD hasn’t converted me, I can understand why Hard Rock fans hold UFO in such high regard.


UFO pull out all the stops on “Showtime”, a lengthy and entertaining two-DVD set, that features nearly as much backstage footage as it does live performances. The meat of the first DVD is a concert filmed in Wilhelmshaven Pumpwerk, Germany on May 13, 2005. The show takes place in a mid-sized venue, packed with enthusiastic fans. The band tears through the sixteen song performance with youthful energy, which is a bit of surprise considering UFO has been around for over 35 years. It’s good to see older bands that can give the younger guys a run for their money. The concert’s set list spans much of UFO’s career, but many albums are left out, which will likely leave some fans grumbling. But hey, you can’t please everybody.


The rest of the first DVD includes a making of DVD feature, which includes interviews with the band and crew members. Some of the interviews are in German, but subtitles are available. The slideshow portion is rather pointless, but the biography and discography are both informative, especially for UFO newbies, such as myself.


The second DVD begins with a six song, live session filmed in Peppermint Park Studios, on May 26, 2005. The best part of this performance is the use of a string section in “Love To Love”, which adds a unique twist to UFO’s no frills Hard Rock style. Another making-of feature, this time focusing on the studio performance, comes next.


The second DVD also features footage from “Rockboat”, in which UFO does a one off performance on a cruise ship, and footage from the band’s 2004 USA tour. Long-time fans of UFO are likely to really enjoy the interviews in the “History” and “Bonus Statements” sections of the second DVD, which are both entertaining and informative.


Overall, “Showtime” is an excellent first DVD for UFO. The menus are easy to navigate, although the animated backgrounds can get a bit annoying. The video and sound are very clear for both the concert and studio performances, and the interview and backstage footage is fun and informative. UFO fans can’t go wrong with “Showtime”, and those looking to get into UFO will find “Showtime” to be an excellent place to start. (Online February 16, 2006)

Eric Vieth

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer