The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Platitude - Silence Speaks (8/10) - Sweden - 2006

Genre: Melodic Metal
Label: Metal Heaven
Playing time: 42:30
Band homepage: Platitude


  1. Tell The Truth
  2. Nobody’s Hero
  3. Silence Speaks
  4. Empty Inside
  5. Fear (It’s Over Now)
  6. Don’t Be Afraid
  7. Falling Down
  8. After The Storm
  9. Walk With Me
  10. You
Platitude - Silence Speaks

After two well received albums ‘’Secrets Of Life (2003)’’ and ‘’Nine (2004)’’ Swedish Melodic Prog Metallers PLATITUDE return with a very strong deeply emotive and sweeping third album. Mixing influences from DREAM THEATER, QUEENSRYCHE and KAMELOT with plenty of soaring Melodic Rock injections these guys really know how to lay down a damn fine song.


Technically the music can’t be faulted from the Neo-Classical Malmsteen/EDGUY-esque of ‘’Don’t Be Afraid’’ to the brooding Power Metal driving force of the excellent ‘’Falling Down’’ to the excellent Hard Rock Melody of ‘’After The Storm’’ and the pulsing ‘’Walk With Me’’ PLATITUDE exude confidence and quality in every department.


The appeal of PLATITUDE lies in their ability to cross reference many genres of Rock and seamlessly configure them into one almighty beast. So fans of Joe Lynn Turner and Glenn Hughes will find much to admire as will devotees of DREAM THEATER and even HAMMERFALL. Can’t ask for much more than that really. (Online April 1, 2006)

Chris Doran

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer