The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

Hellbastard - Natural Order (10/10) - Great Britain - 1990

Genre: Thrash Metal
Label: Earache
Playing time: 70:15
Band homepage: -


  1. Interrogate Them
  2. I Beg In Blood
  3. A Minor Point (Instrumental)
  4. Justly Executed
  5. Natural Order
  6. Enslavers
  7. Black Force
  8. Neon Storms
  9. There Is No God But Man (Or Woman)
  10. T.A.F. (Instrumental)
  11. Live As Mortals (Bonus Track)
  12. Deadlock (Bonus Track)
  13. Schwarzewasser (Bonus Track)
  14. They Brought Death (Bonus Track)
  15. Heading For Eternal Darkness (Bonus Track)
  16. Death From Above (Bonus Track)
  17. Death Camp (Bonus Track)
Hellbastard - Natural Order

Now here is a real treat for all the fans of pure, old school Thrash Fucking Metal!! I’ve known about this long lost UK band for a long time, but had never actually heard a note of their music, so when I finally saw a copy of this album in a second hand record store I bought it there and then. I don’t know how I got home from the store in one piece – I moshed so furiously in my car that I should actually have been in multiple smash-ups!!!


HELLBASTARD started out as a more Hardcore/Grind act, but for this album, which is generally regarded as their best, they went all out Thrash on our asses and I can say now without any hesitation that this is absolutely one of the best Thrash albums out there and perhaps the best one most of you have never heard! Everything about this album kills – the extremely tasty production (perfect guitar sound…), the gruff vocals, melodic solos, intricate yet totally moshable riff arrangements – everything is flawless. It baffles me then that this band never made it big…


From the moment the opening riffs of “Interrogate Them” sound, you just know that this is gonna be one hell of a Thrash assault. The band piles riff upon riff in a way that would make Kerry King and Gary Holt piss their leather pants and it just gets better every time you hear it! The two instrumentals on here are also awesome and generally don’t drag on like so many of them usually do and they add a nice touch of melody and tranquility to the proceedings. The other standout tracks include the brilliant “Black Force” (check out those great harmonies at the 3:15 mark), “Enslavers” and the insane closer “There Is No God But Man (Or Woman)”. This track is so riff-heavy and mosh-worthy that it might very well cause paralyzed wheelchair-bounds to get up and mosh away on the spot!!


But it doesn’t end there. Tracks 11 – 17 are bonus tracks from their unreleased EP “They Brought Death” and it shows the ban d in fine form, but with a little rawer edge. Brilliant!! If only every British Thrash band of the late 80s could have sounded like this, there would have been serious competition for the Bay Area kids.


So, by now you should know that this is an absolutely indispensable album and one of the all time great Thrash releases. Call it cult, call it underrated, but the fact remains that this is a piece of gold right here. The band plays with high energy on every single track and you can just feel that they enjoyed themselves while making this. The other thing that struck me was that they sound like any old school Thrash Metal band out there, but at the same time they have a quite unique sound as well.


I could go on about the merits of this album / band forever, but you really do have to experience it for yourself.


A must!! (Online April 14, 2006)

Neil Pretorius

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer