The Metal Observer - Everything in Metal!

Band-Archives: Metalheads online.  
# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z By country | By style | By reviewer

Band history still to come.

More Reviews
Current Updates
Print article
Rating explanation

1 tablature for U.D.O.

U.D.O. - Mission No. X (5/10) - Germany - 2005

Genre: Heavy Metal
Label: AFM Records
Playing time: 47:25
Band homepage: U.D.O.


  1. Mission No. X
  2. 24/7
  3. Mean Streets
  4. The Eye Of The Eagle
  5. Primecrime On Primetime
  6. Shell Shock Fever
  7. Stone Hard
  8. Number For A Number
  9. Cry Soldier Cry
  10. Breaking Down The Borders
  11. Mad For Crazy
  12. Scream Killers
  13. Way Of Life
U.D.O. - Mission No. X

ACCEPT have never been a favorite of mine, mainly due to the grating vocals of Udo Dirkschneider. On “Mission No. X”, the newest release from Udo’s current band, U.D.O., the same holds true. What we have here is a combo of Germanic Heavy Metal and Hard Rock that, while not too bad on its own, is made rather annoying by the vocals.


The vocals aren’t all that’s bad here, though. Okay, maybe “bad” is not the word to use, as Udo’s vocals aren’t really bad, his grating style just is not my taste. The music certainly isn’t really bad either, but more uninspired. It just feels like U.D.O. are going through the motions, rehashing German Heavy Metal clichés, with a strong ACCEPT flair, but without the passion and conviction of a band like GRAVE DIGGER. But there are some pretty good tracks to be found on “Mission No. X”. “24/7” is catchy and rocking and “Eye Of The Eagle” is a pretty moving ballad.


So, I’m not suggesting that they call it day, as I know that Udo, the man and U.D.O., the band, have plenty of fans that will absolutely eat “Mission No. X” up. But there are certainly bands out there, such as the aforementioned GRAVE DIGGER, that are doing this style of German Heavy Metal so much better. (Online April 16, 2006)

Eric Vieth

© 2000-2013 The Metal Observer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer